The 5 Minute Challenge

The 5 Minute Challenge is something I do with my students K-12, though mostly with K-8.  We use MusicTheory.com’s Note Identification Exercises. You can customize them however you would like in the top right corner.  I give the students 5 minutes, put the activity7 on the Smart Board, we make a loop around the room and GO!  If they talk, they get put on pause but the timer is still going.  I keep track of my scores on the white board.

I have each grade do an exercise that is appropriate for their level.  For these scores, my Kindergartners, 1st graders, and 2nd graders did ONLY the treble clef notes.  3rd and up did the entire grand staff!  As you can see, third grade is a little slow – but they are accurate!  7th grade is currently leading the challenge.

This is just a great activity to promote a little healthy competition among my classes.  I will say, that my high school choir does not do this very often, so please don’t judge me for their lower score!  As you can see, they don’t even have a regular spot on the board!  We’ve been swamped with contests this time of year, so they rarely get to do the 5 Minute Challenge.  Also – Kindergarten is on the bottom because they originally weren’t in the competition, later when they started learning the notes of the treble clef (yes, they CAN do it!) they joined.

 

5 thoughts on “The 5 Minute Challenge

  1. Pingback: Classroom Tour | Miss W's Musical Materials

  2. Is this a note reading challenge? Or did you ever have the clap rhythms, answer vocab, etc. how does the time come into play…when 5 minutes is up questions are done? I love this idea! I teach 6-8 general music and choir.

    Like

Leave a Reply

